Orcon NZ Broadband Internet Access Service Provider Reviews

Orcon #14 As Voted By The Broadbandme Community

Advg from 226 reviews

Reliability: 3.7
Speed: 4.1
Support: 3.0
Features: 4.0
Value: 3.7
Total: 3.7

All Orcon Reviews

Sr. Name Comment Date Score Total
1 4 October 2010
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

7.4

2 Pros: Fast speeds most of the time. Quite a lot faster than most other providers I've been with (because I'm on their own equipment) Cons: Price. International congestion. 5 October 2010
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

8.0

3 5 October 2010
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

7.8

4 Pros: They were good... plans well thought out and were good value...even had good service. Cons: The service is shocking. I've been with them for years and they've managed to become extremely unreliable and their lack of support was/is unbelievable. I don't know who wrote the above reviews..their marketing department may be?? That's where they seem to be spending their money..... I used to recommend them...now all I can say is stay away... save yourself some grief. 5 October 2010
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.0

5 Moved to Orcon, promptly disconnected foe a week!! Was charged for that week!! Honestly drunk insane people would do a better job, what ever you do stay away.... 5 December 2010
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.2

6 I gave Orcon two weeks warning that I was moving which I considered plenty of time for them to connect me at my new place on the day I moved in. First they tried to connect too soon (ignoring the date I gave them) and couldn't. I called them and got put back in the queue - told it would be another 10 days. That day came and went - they said, "it will be tomorrow". That day came and went, they said "oh we'll make it urgent". That apparently means "wait another week". I have zero confidence that they will do it then. If I didn't have a credit with them I'd go elsewhere. The people on the phones don't seem to be able to tell me what's going on with their technicians. These guys are incompetent. 15 December 2010
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.6

7 Slow and intermittent speeds compared to my work xtra account. Very poor for xbox gaming. 29 December 2010
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.4

8 Please type the review comments here. 13 January 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

10.0

9 These guys are either very bad at their job or very good at ripping people off. We've found ourselves tied into a package which provides essentially dial-up speed connection for nearly $100 a month! The connection is unreliable with long periods of down-time and reaching max "high-speed broadband" download speeds of 0.80Mb/s at the best of times. Very poor customer services with tediously long wait times. Customer services representatives were unhelpful and condescending, insisting that the problem was due to our modem (it wasn't). They helpfully assured me that they provided a "no guarantees service" which we were tied into - ie would continue to charge me despite long periods down-time and would provide no apology/refund/compensation. 25 January 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.8

10 Stay well away.. disconnections, very slow when working (in central Auckland!)... awful service :( 25 January 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.6

11 The name says it all, orCon's broadband connection was unreliable connection and very slow at the best of times. Weeks of downtime. Customer services were unhelpful timewasters. There are always long waits on the phone lines. 8 February 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.6

12 Please type the review comments here. 13 March 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.6

13 Please type the review comments here. 18 March 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.4

14 Been with Orcon for 5 years and its was good until recently when I changed from an old package to one of the newer home phone deals, to be honest a bunch of drunken monkeys could probably do better. 24 March 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.6

15 I've been with Orcon for 3 years now and they used to be good.I was getting good speeds:6,7 or 8 Mb/s.Now its down to 2 Mb/s.I called them few times but so far it remains unresolved. 19 April 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.0

16 I have been with Orcon for several years but am now switching- I don't care if I have to pay more money My connection speed is down to something ridiculous - I had 55bytes per second today - gave up downloading a 77KB application after waiting for 36 hours and only having had downloaded about 10% SERIOUSLY! Their customer service is pathetic at the best of times - always insisting that it must be the hardware in the house and never their lines or anything like that - so every time I ring up I get to do the same - switch off and on - check all outlets etc HOPELESS 24 April 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.0

17 Ocron's just the best! Best value for money! I only pay $70 per month for both 30 gb broadband and landline combined because of their deal. I've been a Telecom customer for the past 3 years and all I can say is that I'm sooo glad to have switched to Orcon. Check-out w/ Orcon if your area has the same broadband/phone deal as mine = ) 25 April 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

10.0

18 Signed up for phone and internet on saturday night thru the website and all was connected by thursday 7am! very quick and hassle free! 26 April 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

8.6

19 Please type the review comments here. 28 April 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.4

20 Please type the review comments here. 1 May 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

21 Pathetic Line Speeds and massive differences in Download speeds from hour to hour, topping at 6.5MB/s and then 1 hour later it`ll be down to 0.56MB/s!! When next door neighbours fire up their computers we slow right down! I suspect Orcon is overselling Bandwidth on crap Copper exchanges which can`t accommodate more and more customers, This should be illegal! 1 May 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

22 Please type the review comments here. 1 May 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

8.8

23 The customer support/services has declined steadily in the last couple of years, so much so that I am thinking of changing to Actrix after having been with Orcon since 2007. Also some of the technicians don't have a clue what they're talking about - even on some of the basic stuff. I think they've got too big, too quicky, and now can't handle things properly. And woe betide if you end up being on a Telecom wholesale line with Orcon... speeds are shocking, and you wait far longer to get a resolution to your problems as they seem to always have to ask elsewhere for an update! 6 May 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

5.6

24 Please type the review comments here. 10 May 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

7.8

25 WOULD NOT RECOMMEND. 31 May 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.4

26 Avoid like the plague. 31 May 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

27 Does 10 10 10 10 10 seem a little dodgy 8 June 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.8

28 Please type the review comments here. 15 June 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

10.0

29 Just don't go there 25 June 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.8

30 I'm really enjoying my time with Orcon. Came from Telstraclear which was a disaster. 3 July 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

8.4

31 Been with Orcon for a couple years now. Sticking with them because they have given us consistantly good broadband - quite fast, and good price ($70/month landline and 30gb). We live in South Auckland, so maybe it depends on location how good the broadband is. Customer service is OK. Not great, not bad. Overall a good provider. 8 July 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

7.6

32 $70 Phone & 30G Broadband, was great deal till the next got slow at night recently. 24 July 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

5.8

33 Please type the review comments here. 24 July 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

10.0

34 Their customer service is really pathetic. We were waiting for the modem to be delivered for 2 weeks.. I called them and they said wait few days more. Few days later, I called them again, then I found out they have not ordered the modem for me yet!!!!!! hopeless. I do not recommend at all. 25 July 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.6

35 Switched from Telstraclear. Speed is great as i am close to the exchange. Big difference is that i save around $40 a month from my old plan. Only been a few month but more than happy with orcon so far. 28 July 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

8.8

36 Avoid the customer service is terrible. Its a shame really as the connections and packages are ok. 31 July 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

4.0

37 SHIT dont sign up rubbish companyl3 1 August 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

38 Please type the review comments here. 2 August 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

5.4

39 useless connection speeds hate orcon 4 August 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

40 Hopeless 6 August 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.4

41 I lost my broadband connection a week after switching to Orcon. I phoned up and explained exactly what I thought was the likely issue. After 2 weeks of dealing with incompetent people they finally came to the conclusion that I might be right. 10 minutes later they had the problem fixed. And that was just my first problem. Next problem... Bad crackling on my phone line. (I did a complete internal rewire to ensure it wasn't at my end. - I raised the matter two months ago and it still isn't resolved.) Why am I stll with them? I hate changing providers! 10 August 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

5.6

42 I signed up for the Genius package a few weeks ago. I received the router & handset in preparations for a cutover of services on Tuesday 9 August. Tuesday came, I got an email, and I lost my Telecom phone/internet connection at home. I did what was asked of me, and have been continuing to do so since then. More than 72 hours later, I still have no telephone or internet connection at home. The most frustrating part of this is an attempt to speak to the call centre. At times, the wait has been close to an hour before I can get someone on the line – of course, then I get bounced around between different people, with no real resolution. So far, no one has been able to diagnose the problem accurately – first it was a provisioning problem, and now has been passed on to the assurance team. The current escalation point says a technician needs to come out (this was the same state on Tuesday) but the team that can allocate this technician hasn’t got the time to look at this issue. Yesterday, I got told I have been "waiting ONLY 2 days, others have been waiting longer” and that I had to wait my turn. I am still in disbelief over this statement. Will never go to Orcon again and will also advise my clients to do the same. 11 August 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

43 Absolute waste of time - Have the same problem as the person above although, I have not had phone/internet for 9 days now. Sick of having to phone each day - no one is helpful. Wishing now that I hadn't changed to Orcon at all, and am now asking to be released from the contract as I don't actually receive the service. Next step - FAIR GO 15 August 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

44 This is a home business based on email orders coming in from my website. Have been without any email connection for 10 days straight. For two weeks before that I only had occasional connection and constant problems with password not being recognised by Orcon. Unable to access webmail directly from the Igrin website because the password doesn't work. Am told by Orcon I have to wait 7 days for a response. SEVEN DAYS!!!!!!!!! Outrageous. Meanwhile my business is paralysed and I am unable to communicate with any of the Orcon staff unless I wait for an hour or more on the phone with that maddening music and the ludicrously patronising woman's recorded voice. I'm gone from Orcon/Igrin.. anything else is better than this insulting runaround. 19 August 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

45 I've been an Orcon customer for centuries and I'm leaving them for another ISP (Digital Island). Why? Slow speeds and no support. I've asked them by email and phone several times in recent weeks why my broadband connection has slowed down to a tenth its normal speed and I have got useless responses. Just cut and paste fob-offs that don't help at all. I think the same thing has happened with these guys as happened with Ihug - great ISP that has got too big too fast and can't handle it. 22 August 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

4.0

46 Don't ever bother with Orcon 24 August 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

47 This is Bloody frustrating! The call center people do not know what to do! They will tell u things and asked u to do something, only to find out the next day that what they asked u to do was a stupid thing! They put me in a different plan in which I didn't even agree! This company sucks!!! BIG TIME!!! 25 August 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

48 I've had an ongoing issue for a month now where the modem doesn't connected faster than 300K. Each time I call (once a week) I fond out nothing has been done and it's sitting on someones queue, and I'm getting the agent to do the job the last one should have done. I'm switching ISPs because they don't seem to care at all. 28 August 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.4

49 The support is rubbish. the 0800131415 number is almost a joke as there is no one ever picked up the phone. I had rang up 5 times in the last two days, each time hold between 30 - 45 mins unit I was so fed up and couldn't be bother to hold any more. Does anyone successfully get through them? 30 August 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.4

50 They lied through their teeth to get me as a customer, but when I stupidly switched to Orcon I suddenly found out that the services that they promised me did not exist. I cancelled the contract on ground of their fraud, but then they disconnected my internet anyway. I still have my phone, knock wood. Do not under any circumstances use this provider. 8 September 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

51 Nick Orcon is a joke, my advice is to give the company the middle finger and never to use them... ever 3 October 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

52 First impressions last! 5 October 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.6

53 Heather Once you do get a human on the Cust Service phone - they are pleasant to deal with. But I think they don't have enough staff to deal with the load. 5 October 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

7.6

54 avoid like the plague 17 October 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.2

55 Al . 21 October 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

7.8

56 Craig BAD, BAD AND EVEN WORSE! dont waste your time with these useless morons. 30 November 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.0

57 Mike comment 9 December 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

9.2

58 Paul Purely terrible. 25 December 2011
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.8

59 expect to wait on the phone for over 45 mins waiting for service or support; line cuts too frequently; if you leave your phone number for them to call back, they will never call you back, very bad service 6 January 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

60 OMG, so, so bad, customer service lacks a great deal; too many technical issues, and initial service very rude, it's like they don't want any new customers 6 January 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

61 Rinke I wanted to be disconnected so phoned 30 days in advance. They disconnected me right the next day, in stead of 30 days later as requested. So we had to be reconnected, because I needed the internet for these last 30 days. This took ten full days. Eventually they charged me a reconnection fee (while it was their mistake - they disconnected too soon), and a full month extra connection after the desired disconnection date. I called them that this bill was very wrong. I should not worry, they would make it all right and send me a corrected bill. It never happened, but my e-mail is cut off. The helpdesk is lousy. Long waiting times, and every time they promise to put you through to someone who knows more, "CONINCIDENTALLY" the line dies and you can call again to be back in the queue for 45 minutes or so. It seems helpdesk employees of orcon got a training to stay very polite, calm down the "patient", but NOT do anything at all which could solve the problems. I'd recommend anyone to stay far away from orcon. 13 January 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.0

62 Rw DO NOT JOIN 16 January 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.0

63 CC Don't use. Save yourself many hours of time on the phone trying to sort issues! 24 January 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.2

64 enduringlongsuffering will not be going back! 15 February 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

65 Ros Bos Use anytime 23 February 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

8.6

66 jess jones if it all worked, the value would be good. on hold for at least 40 minutes every time I needed to call, I have spent in total, days, on the phone. Had to tell them that I wouldn't be paying a cent until they had delivered what they promised. Have had the worst connection problems and although they've been good at sending out Chorus - who are excellent - the problem continues. They don't monitor although that seems to be their standard response for not keeping in touch. Result? I've had occasional broadband and phone over 5 weeks and not paid - never had voicemail, or call waiting. Am moving on. Agree with previous reviews, they've grown too big, too quickly and can't keep up. Get yourselves sorted Orcon, the only thing that seems to work properly is your marketing! 25 February 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.6

67 Grant I have been with Orcon 3 years, first 2years great, but this last year Orcon has been; frustrating, incompetent, no customer service, etc and I have restarted, switched off, reset, called, held, called held,.. etc I am sure you get the picture, Orcon has become a disaster, Would not recommend at all. 28 February 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.2

68 Peter See above 28 February 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.4

69 Jono Orcon is a bit of a or Con alright did get good speed when first joined about 1 year ago but service leaves a lot to be desired 1 March 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

5.2

70 ORCON AM TOTALLY OVER THIS COMPANY...AM OUT OF POCKET ALMOST $500 .. BECAUSE OF THEIR INEPT SERVICES..... CHARGING ME FOR SERVICES I HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO USE AND MOBILE PLANS LIKEWISE EG, ..BROADBAND STICK NO GO BEYOND BOMBAY HILLS . ALL PROMISES TO REVIEW MY ACCOUNT. BY EVERYOTHER SUPPORT LINE WORKER.... BUT EACH MONTH NO CHANGES HUGE DRAMA CHARGING ME FOR RETURN OF MODEM LOST BY COURIER COMPANY SO ITS MY FAULT AND SUGGESTIONS I SHOULD CHADSE COUTIER FOR THE INSURANCE THATER THAN THEM,IGNORING CHARGE MISTAKES THEY HAVE MADE 3 MONTHS IN A ROW BUT HEY STILL GRABBING OVER CHARGES FROM MY CREDIT CARD EACH MONTH.......I FINISH WITH THEM IN 21 DAYS AND WILL NEVER USE THEM AGAIN NOR NOT RECOMMEND THEM TO ANYONE ..THEIR SEVICE SUPPORT IS A FARCE .... TOO MANY TIMES MY ENQUIRIES HAVE BEEN MET WITH THE SYSTEM IS DOWN WILL CALL YOU BACK.,,DO THEY..NOT ON YOUR NELLY....ITS FAIR GO NEXT FOR ME AND INDEPENDANT CLAIMS TRIBUNAL AHEAD ..WHAT A PHONY OUTFIT THEY HAVE BECOME ....BEWARE YOU OUT THERE LOOK ELSEWHERE ... 4 March 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

71 Archie Murphy switched from Telecom as only Orcon offered broadband in our area years ago service has been normally good with a few hiccups but now disasterious since introduction of genious hooking up back to Telecom tomorrow 6 March 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

4.0

72 John If you're a home owner/ business owner, i would not recommend Orcon at all. 11 March 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

73 Sue I had nothing but trouble with orcon.... From phone to Internet and billing plus much more...... Is was that bad I ending up on the phone to them week after week and month after month for the past year and a half and still they couldn't seem to get this right so finally I moved to another and I'm still having issues with orcon...... So over the stress they put me through...... 11 March 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

74 Steve Orcon is totally frustrating & useless. We've been customers for 2 years. Initially good. Last few months they've been incredibly inept. Minimum 30 mins to reach the service desk. Logged query about a major Auckland ph number we can't reach. It was 'closed' without resolution of problem or contact with us. 5 weeks later we're told that the problem won't be solved any time soon. Then yesterday many many voicemail messages appear out of the ether going back 3+ weeks. When challenged, the attitude is that they did us a favour by not deleting them. Utterly unbelievable. Orcon needs to go under to save itself and its suffering customers. We're jumping ship asap. 13 March 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

75 kirsty No good things to say about this company I'm afraid - won't even acknowledge formal complaints! 19 March 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.8

76 Chris VERY VERY ANNOYED!!!! 22 March 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.8

77 Max STAY AWAY FROM THEM! 25 March 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

78 Steven Spielberg It's very hard to deal with this company and I would not recommend them. However, if you're lucky enough that things work out for you then you may not have any problems for a long time. 26 March 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

6.4

79 Tangaroa Takinui dont sign up with them. 2 April 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.8

80 Aimee WORST SERVICE EVER. Am stuck in a 2 year contract, I dont know how I am legally tied to this however, as the service I am getting is so sub standard Its hardly a service at all. 21 April 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

81 Kristy McAfee Cannot say enough bad stuff about them. I am surprised that they are still in business. They can't get their billing straight. It takes hours and hours of my personal time to fix their mistakes. Sign up to Orcon only if you are prepared to wait at least an hour in order to talk to a customer service representitive, who most likely won't know how to fix their gigantic stuff ups. 11 June 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

4.4

82 Liam Bad overall service. 18 June 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

83 Sarah Absolutely useless customer service when you actually manage to talk to someone. No one seems to know what is going on let alone how to sort it out. We have had no landline for a week despite being told every day it will be sorted out by the end of the day. We have never ever been without a landline for this length of time in the 25 plus years we have paid for a phone. Do not go with this company! 10 July 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

4.4

84 Carl Been with Orcon for a number of years and to be hoenst I get the feeling they're taking advantage of that now. With my recent move, costs for the same services went up (?!?!) and they still haven't correctly provisioned after over a week (that a week from when they said it would be done, not from order time). Generally agree with Sarah above - I'm at over a week on a house move and still waiting. Phone number changed, but they didn't actually bother telling me, which was... interesting. Now it seems there is a DSL misconfiguration which (you guessed it) they have to hand off for somebody else to fix - 2 days to wait for that one so far. 3 September 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

4.0

85 Angela Happy so far 28 October 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

8.4

86 Marcos Ensure that the connection is uenfttered and available to anyone using the net. Restore the peer to peer connection by using Ipv6. Define what exactly is broadband and Highspeed. It should also be a minimum speed of 1.5 meg for basic connection and 5 meg for standard and say no to quota's. They are a good idea on the technical side, but the business side will use this as a means to make more money than they should. Rant 45 dollar a month for inconsistent speed and questionable up time is wrong. Basic network connection should be no more that 25 dollars a month. Be able to choose any ISP I want not be lock into single provider and the no long term contracts. Force the ISP to give the customer good prices and customer service. Maybe look into government control of the nations backbone connection, likely not a good chose, but rules need to be implemented. The internet has turned into a utility not a service and should be treated as such. 29 October 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

6.0

87 Sledge Great speed and easy to set up, the Genius Plan for $99 unlimited and free national calls, answer phone and voice message. Love it! 29 October 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

6.6

88 Agatha Chen I find Orcon's Sales, Customer Service and Technical team exceptional. Their sales team were able to think outside the square in getting me to join up and upsell. The Customer Service and Technical team kept me update about progress on my provisioning problems. This is company who has a team who cared about their customers and as a customer I am very happy with them - pleasant experience to start! 1 November 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

10.0

89 Anna Read DO NOT GO THERE !!! As soon as our contract is up...goodbye, Orcon. They do seem all right now, but the hassles at the beginning nearly drove me demented. 16 November 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

4.4

90 Thomas If you are going for Orcon go for the Genius, its cheaper and (after replacing a faulty model) I have had no problems with it. No 'turn off and wait then restart' moments. ;) 22 November 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

9.4

91 Annie . I couldn't get into my account using the user name and password that is automatically generated when one logs in. What a surprise again. They sent me a new one-I am sure that I will easily remember hh8hfs4.That's not it, but it has that order and combination of numbers and letters.They tell me to ring 0800131415...nobody there.When I finally got into my account, i found that it is worded in such a way that nobody can understand itThe redial function on the handset no longer works. We cannot use the new netbook unless it has a USB cable. I am wondering if we want not to pay the $200 fee to get out more than we don't want the endless annoyance of Orcon stuffups. 24 November 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.6

92 Willie We have been with Orcon since October 2008 when we moved back to NZ after 18 months in Europe. At that time the customer service was very good (especially compared to Telecom perviously). However in the last couple of years the customer service was poor as they didn't answer the phone in a reasonable time, but seems to have recently improved again. I recently move to the Genius plan with no problems, modem arrived within 24 hours of ordering it, switchover went to plan, sync speed increased from16500kbps to 20500kbps (not sure why, maybe better modem? We are about 400m from the nearest Chorus cabinet in Kohimarama, Auckland). I work from home and the connection has always been consistent and reliable with minimal dropouts (maybe a few a year), and seems to be no different with the Genius. VOIP phone also appears to work fine, can't really tell any difference between it and the old POTS phone. 5 December 2012
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

9.0

93 Hamish Kay Very very slack at connecting customers especially when I expressed how urgent I needed internet. I was treated as 2nd class even after I had paid 2 months in advance! Disgusted and will be calling for compensation for the router I had to pay for waiting for them to finally send me one! I'm generally patient, but this lot drove me mental. 15 January 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

4.0

94 I started the ball rolling and signed up. They said can we do credit check? Im like sweet. They rang back and said no credit history shows up for you. Im like good ihave no debt with baycorp and im ahead on all my bills. So she said i know we said you dont have to pay a start up fee but you have to pay a month in advance for security. Im all good send me the bill i got the money to pay it. Lady saidno you have to pay it now with debit card or credit card. I dont have any i asked if theres another way. She said i should ask a friend or family member to pay it n i pay them or go buy a debit card. Surly they can have an ulternative to these payments. And why say you dont have to paythen ppenalize me for having good credit. She was rude and butted in and didnt let me talk so i will not be using them. 20 January 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

4.0

95 We originally had no issues for over 2 years and were happy customers. Recently changed address (gave them a month's warning) and they cut our service a month early! Then spent every day on the phone for 5 days with no internet/phone to rectify their mistake! Very very frustrating having to repeat myself to the various staff and some gave contradictory advice or mentioned there were no notes on the file about my previous hour long conversations. Have finally reconnected at our current property however I'm dreading the move. The most recent stuff up is that recent bill has over charged us so spent yesterday on the phone again for an hour to have this hopefully rectified. If it wasn't for the $199 disconnection fee I would be long gone! In 12 months we will be. Don't use them, they have terrible customer service and I regret switching to a 12 month plan. 25 January 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.4

96 Go for another provider! 25 February 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.6

97 Sarah Borrelli Recommend them to anyone wanting broadband for home or business. 3 March 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

9.4

98 very satisfied 3 March 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

9.4

99 Glenn Hunwick Great Service so far 3 March 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

10.0

100 Andrew Mann The best I've found in New Zealand and have no hesitation in recommending. 3 March 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

9.0

101 anne oakley far better service than my old isp 3 March 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

9.8

102 Richard i would recommend orcon. Touch wood....have not had any problems for a few months now :) 3 March 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

9.0

103 Hannah Ryan We are very satisfied with you as our provider 3 March 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

10.0

104 Graeme I am now suggesting everyone who will listen that they should give Orcon a try. 3 March 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

10.0

105 Robert J Route None 3 March 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

8.2

106 Angus Fisk I tried a variety of providers before Orcon. They just don't measure up. And I like the cats! 3 March 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

8.2

107 PETER BARRETT great company overall. 4 March 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

9.2

108 Reg Churchward should have switch ages ago 4 March 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

9.2

109 Maureen B Orcon broadband is really good. If I ever phone with a problem they answer the phone promptly, and they're always very helpful and solve it. 5 March 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

9.0

110 Doug Ordered Unlimited Package 3 weeks ago still don't have internet. They have delayed connecting us 3 times. When it was said to finally be connected there was a problem with connection to our apartment so yet another delay while we wait for a technician. Not worth it at all. 12 March 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

111 Carol Wright I would recommend Orcon to anybody. 24 March 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

8.6

112 Derek Richards Would {& do } promote them to other people. 24 March 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

8.8

113 Malcolm Rose A reliable and competitive service. 24 March 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

9.4

114 Robohotic Thinking of changing after more than 7 years of being with Orcon. 25 March 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

6.6

115 Angela Stockley At the moment I have had a fault order since 17.03.13 as internet keeps dropping out therefore I lose internet and telephone.... both of which I need for work and end up costing me for using my mobile for business which it is not set up for. 29 March 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

5.6

116 Annie I would recommend Orcon to others, it works well for us, especially with the zero-rated data from certain sites. 4 April 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

8.2

117 Alastair Tye Samson Speed was great for the first month or two. now it's terrible. 6 April 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

5.2

118 Lee ahhhhh 11 April 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.8

119 cassie DON'T GO WITH THEM, PLEASE FOR THE LOVE OF GOD 22 April 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.4

120 robert I can not recommend Orcon to anyone. 7 May 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.2

121 Paul 5 days now with no internet and no explanation or any idea on when it will be resolved. This is about the 5th time this has happened in 2 years. Customer service doesnt care and when I ask what they intend to do about it they just say "it's not us, it's Chorus" - I dont car! Orcon is my provider so Orcon is responsible to me, dont blame others. Oh, and sending someone an email to tell them their internet connection is not working is one of the most idiotic things I have come across. 13 May 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.8

122 michael Rude and useless customer services. Very low speed and charge you full amount.. Not worth go with Orcon anymore. 15 May 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.2

123 Bill Brown A++ ISP in my experience 23 May 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

9.4

124 John As soon as our contract is up we are leaving - They sign yuo up quick as a flash but after that it is all downhill! Don;t use Orcon! 23 May 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.4

125 tamar peterken basicly i will be leaving orcon soon as my year is up 23 May 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.6

126 John I am currently using Orcon and is having trouble talking to them. They like to put you on hold for multiple hours and hangs up on you if they do not want to talk. I had to personally call then on many different occasions such as overbilling, disconnecting home phone, disconnecting internet and other inconvenient things. I truly wish that no more people should be scammed as I was, I believe one is enough. P.S: this company will make many random mistakes as possible. 25 May 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

127 KL PIVAC look forward to service improvement 28 May 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

4.8

128 Fiza I m with Orcon from past one year and still with them only cause of contract. They are very bad in their service. We moved to new house and they took two weeks in providing internet in new house. Keep on delaying work. I do not want to recommend them to others anymore. 14 July 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.8

129 Caitlin I went with Orcon for a cheap deal but got completely mucked around. Not sure what country their call centre is based in. Told me my Internet would be connected in 10 days, waited two weeks and nothing. Went to Actrix and was connected in three days :) 19 October 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.2

130 Not very helpful at all. 30 October 2013
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.8

131 Donna Stuck with them because of the contract, wish I had read reviews before going with them. 19 January 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

4.2

132 Nick WARNING. DO NOT SIGN UP WITH ORCON. I DID NOT LEARN MY LESSON. THEY WERE JUST AS BAD 3 YEARS AGO AND HAVE EVEN GOT WORSE. 31 January 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.6

133 Lata Horrible internet provider would not recommend them to anyone looking for a ISP. The issues that they provide piss you off more then flappy bird 10 February 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.8

134 Lyn Worst ever provider in both technical and customer supports. 26 February 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.4

135 Heather changing for wire when told there was no cost as we where already using cable 8 March 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.6

136 Victor DO NOT GET ANYWHERE NEAR ORCON! 29 May 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

137 Jackson WORST FUCKING INTERNET PROVIDER EVER! CANNOT PLAY ANY GAMES MY PING JUST SPIKES 24/7 AND THEY ARE BLAMING MY ROUTER BUT IT HAS NEVER FAILED BEFORE WITH VODAFONE AND WHEN THEY RESET MY INTERNET ON THEIR END IT IS FINE FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS 31 May 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

138 Jackson Am currently with the "30mbps" plan for 2 years. Never have I ever reached 20mbps. Every single time I check my speed, it is always at around 4-5mbps. Horrible service. They just tell me to reset modem, and nothing changes/improves. Service is horrible, plan is a scam. DO NOT CHOOSE ORCON. ORCON IS THE WORST PROVIDER OUT THERE. 21 June 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

139 Sheila {WARNING} ORCON IS A SCAM! 100% SCAM. I HAVE RECENTLY PLANNED WITH THE ORCON 100MBPS ULTRA FAST BROADBAND, BUT I HAVE RECEIVED NOTHING BUT 5MBPS-8MBPS. THIS IS HORRIBLY SLOW COMPARED TO THE 100MBPS THAT THEY PROMISED. ORCON IS 100% FAKE AND A SCAM. SUCH A WASTE OF MONEY. DO NOT PICK ORCON. 21 June 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.2

140 Lorenzo i am tied to such a bad deal for the next 2 years. they promised 30MBPS but i only ever get around 10mbps at most. and there are 5 people in my family which means this is very slow and laggy. i cant even play a game peacefully without this stupid lag. i hope orcon does something about this becasue every time i call them, they just tell me to reset router. VERY STUPID. I HATE ORCON. WORST EVER!!! 21 June 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

141 Madison WORST INTERNET PROVIDER EVER. THEY DO NOTHING WELL! NOTHING AT ALL. ITS ALWAYS SLOW AND LAGGY. VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE ALSO, THEY ARE RUDE LIARS. THEY JUST TELL YOU TO RESTART YOUR MODEM, IT DOESNT EVEN WORK. I DONT EVER GET 30 MBPS, MOST I HAVE EVR GOTTEN WAS 8MBPS. HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 21 June 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

142 Steven Think about changing provider not sure who the alternatives are? 26 June 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

6.2

143 Karavir *****DO NOT USE ORCON! WASTE OF TIME! WASTE OF MONEY! ITS A SCAM. 100% SCAM!******* 2 July 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.2

144 Owen Joseph ******ORCON IS A BLACKMAIL SCAM CHEATER USELESS********** 5 July 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

145 Liz Smart business model - nice as pie to sign people up and then make it as hard as possible for them to cancel. 12 July 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

4.6

146 Gareth Their customer service phone technicians are pretty sub standard. I have had on occasion people at the far end who actually trouble shot my problem and actually knew what they were talking about, but for the most part they have conversational english comprehension and know nothing other than their script. 13 August 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

5.0

147 Steven Orcon needs to wake up cheap will only take you so far. You invest a lot of money and time in the first year if your clients leave as soon as they are able you lose money 17 August 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.6

148 L J If you dont care about the service and just looking at the speed and cost of the internet. Orcon is pretty a good choice. 10 September 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

6.2

149 John Clements Check out other suppliers 9 October 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.4

150 jason Dont go there . They really were a worry for us . Spent hours just trying to contact them . We wont be paying another cent . . 27 November 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

151 Aaron Very bad ISP, poor connection reliability, possibly the worst, most useless and slowest customer service team on the planet, Also appear to be untrustworthy scam artists trying to con people out of money they dont owe at every opportunity ***AVOID ORCON AT ALL COSTS*** 4 December 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.6

152 kamal singh broadband and phone not working almost a month. keep on calling to orcon and they were keep on saying team of engineers are working on it. looks like its not a team of engineers but a bunch of idiots.no satisfied response at every time. at the end one of their senior staff suggested me to close the account. what a shame 9 December 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

153 Patricia NZ Stay away They are crooks . Seem to work out of the Phillipenes 19 December 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

154 Michael Enjoy life, enjoy freedom, stay away from Orcon :) 27 December 2014
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.2

155 jhon doe ... 1 January 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

156 CT Look elsewhere. Not Orcon. 7 January 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.2

157 Kayla I think this is utter extortion. I shouldn't have to pay for a service after the supposed end date YOU gave me. Never using Orcon again. 28 January 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.0

158 Don't touch them 7 February 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.2

159 Terry Cooper Over the years I have had Telecom/Spark". Bad on all counts. Actrix overall very good but Orcon were a bit better but seem to be slipping lately 9 February 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

5.6

160 Ivan totally sick of the issue, lack of customer service, bull!sht excuses and looking at changing to a better service provider, 14 March 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.8

161 Richard Acceptable before takeover, now progressively getting worse. I guess the new owners are cost cutting to improve the bottom line. Am currently looking for another provider and will change within a couple of months. 17 March 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

4.4

162 Geoff Edwards Worst possible choice.. 25 March 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.8

163 David Waring I am changing ISP. I have had enough. 30 March 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.2

164 Dan I Highly recommend this ISP to people who likes slow net, bad customer service, knowledgeable in terms with internet. (insert bad comments here) . etc etc. Worst of the worst. 9 April 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

165 Warwick up with dodafone for support 9 April 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

4.4

166 John Montgomery Why dont they stay honest 11 April 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

6.4

167 Mo See pros and cons :) 1 May 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.4

168 Dusty Eloff There Service is pathetic 18 May 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.6

169 Jessie Frustrated that we are forced to work with service providers that could hardly be bothered to better their services...However, They send us the bills without fail..Atleast their accounts department is doing their job by billing us for their below average service. I wanted to put a zero for their support query - however there isn't a zero and without putting a value I am not being allowed to submit my review. 19 May 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.8

170 Foster These guys are worse than bad internet, they cant be trusted at all, if you dont cancel your direct debit they will keep charging after cancelling your account. They are completely incompetent to deal with. Worst internet ever, slow, dropped out all the time, the best support could offer is "reset your router" Issue never resolved and I changed to spark and now have best internet ever, I'm only 200m from my cabinet. I really recommend going with the larger companies spark or vodafone, from my research these really are the better options, most people have no trouble with their services. 20 May 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.0

171 axel hamelmann don't work from the beginning 21 May 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.4

172 Sandos Phillipined call centre don't have links to nz techs. 11 June 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

5.6

173 David All isps are hard to get hold of, waiting times and service is awful. Telephone function is important to everyone and the customer doesn't realise incoming calls are failing with out of service messages. 15 June 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

174 CODI Unbelievably slow internet for Auckland. Spend most days with dial up speeds. Can't believe they have a score of 4. A company this size could monitor the speeds it's clients get and help those who are suffering seriously low connections. Highly not recommended. 14 July 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.2

175 jacob useless company. go anywhere else. over priced, they throttle speeds, (im on uncapped unlimited) customer support is terrible 17 July 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.8

176 Elliot over all is okay. but customer service let them down. am shifting my provider to slingshot. 17 July 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

177 Warwick support same as slingshit 2 August 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

6.2

178 Tom . 4 August 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

179 I wouldnt recommend Orcon if you are using ADSL/VDSL or want a competent ISP. Great provider if you only use the internet for emails. 4 September 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.6

180 J really frustrated and disappointed with their plan 26 September 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.6

181 fritz unusabale 3 October 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.8

182 you wankers Be aware that you get charged $250 if you dont return modem. Assholes 13 October 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.4

183 Lorraine Would not recommend 24 October 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.8

184 John Had an internet problem for 15 days with zero internet access whatsoever... The tech support is absolutely useless! they cant answer any of my technical questions and just say the same thing as their scripted too. Ive called countless times and still no help and cant even update me on whats going on, they just tell me to wait a couple days and they say that every time ive called for 15 days...ridiculous. its pretty obvious no one is working on my line seriously. If you're like me and your work relies on having internet access then you would be absolutely furious too. Ive informed orcon of this urgency and they still don't care. Ive lost business and money due to this problem and now that they finally fixed it i asked for credit on the account to compensate for the 15 days that i had no internet and they only credited $20... my plan cost $100 a month and half of that month i had no service from orcon and they only credited me $20...it should $45 at minimum! preferably more for all the inconvenience. ive already lost hundreds due to being unable to work properly for 15 days so them being only able to credit $20 is pathetic!! I don't recommend orcon at all now! they used to be good but now...smh worse then slingshot and i thought i would never say any isp is worse then slingshot. 21 November 2015
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.2

185 Milton Zerbetto I do not recommend this company. 5 January 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.4

186 Alex The worse broadband ever, I have problem with speed almost like 2 month, already send 50+ emails with speedtests and ping and traceroute still have no response, same shit like restart your modem 10 January 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

187 James HAAAAATE. 17 January 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

4.0

188 Tony Would not recommend, difficult to get support to acknowledge fault. Support is resolute in any decision they have and will not be flexible. 26 January 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.0

189 Orconiscrap Would leave immediately but cant afford the 10 months cancelation changes! Very highly recommended to avoid them at all cost! 1 February 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.6

190 Sanjay The need to get more professional staff and better systems 4 February 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.6

191 Chris McBreen Had lots of issues with Orcon when they changed my family home to fast fibre line - called 13 times over 21 days - internet running very slow at peak times 4 pm to 9 pm - running less than 1 mbps with Linetest.et - even ADSL and VDSL run at 10 mbps! Trying to change providers now 29 February 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.8

192 Kam This company should not be in business. They are a sham and a disgrace to the industry. Seems management don't care about where their business comes from - the customers. With this attitude they will not be remain in business for long 4 March 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

193 Yvonne The customer service from this organisation, especially it's offshore customer support is shocking. Try weeks of endless hours on the phone trying to resolve matters which should be simple. Worst ever customer service of any company we've had the displeasure of dealing with. 31 March 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

194 Eddie I was using orcon for couple years when I was renting. Their broadband was fairly average in terms of the speed and stability whilst their price was always in the high range of the market. But the worst part about orcon was their customer service - I called them third of June to terminate the service by end of June and was told not a problem. In fact, I stopped to use their service around 25th of June and I was happy to pay for the entire month. Then I continued to receive bills from them for July and August after many calls I was told that I failed to give them 30 days notice and therefore I was liable for the following 2 months. They told me they could not find the record that I had called them on 3rd of June and they refused to consider the fact that I stopped using their service from 25th of June. Of course, I didn't buy into the bullshit from them and didn't pay the extra $200 asked from me. After few email exchanges with them, a massive amount of random emails were crashing into my email inbox so that the email was too stuffed to be used anymore. Unfortunately that was not the end of the story - recently I happened to find out the $200 was forwarded to Baycorp to make a stain on my personal credit record. I'm now in process of dealing with this issue. So if you are after a honest, reasonable and customer focused ISP look else where. 30 April 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.6

195 Peter If you want to ensure a reasonalbe quality of service with this company, I would suggest that you keep calling them everytime there is an issue and to keep a note of names, dates and conversations so that their technical support cannot deny that any calls took place. It pays to keep calling them back to ensure that the job remains active as they close the job if they do not hear anything for a week. 2 May 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.4

196 Orcon, you will never read this but you need to get off your ass and start spending the enormous profit you're making from your customers. Invest in a support team for a start. Invest in some decent software to manage your organisation. You're absolutely terrible. 18 May 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.4

197 Igi realy thinking of leaving... i don't mind paying cancellation of contract fee... as long as I can get some better service... Will start looking for another provider tomorrow.. 30 May 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

198 Izak Anderoz Orcon is claiming to give 100mbps download and 20mbps upload speed when their cheap shit modems don't even have 5ghz meaning their speed can not go past 45mbps down throw wifi that's what most people use, the only way you can get 100mbps download is to connect throw the Ethernet cable. Orcon management knows about this problem but is not doing anything to resolve it. They are rip offs I would not recommend any 1 to join them. 3 June 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

199 Peter Save yourself a major hassle. Absolutely the worst broadband I have ever had. 7 June 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.2

200 Bobs uncle Need I say more? They have no idea. Shoddy install also. Will try and take the cheapest route though this technically is not orcon 11 June 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.6

201 De La Mer As above, spark r imperfect as any but a bit more integrity than this lot, also 2 degrees stay away from them they attempt to access your bank accounts without permission that is fraud 11 July 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

202 Jo They were OK in the beginning but are now a 3rd rate company. 11 July 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.0

203 Cole Gale I am so happy to leave Orcon, I don't mind paying the 30 day notice period even without any service for my money. 13 July 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

4.2

204 Anonmyous Not worth the money or time there usless bad costumer support they yell and argue's with the customer that is certified in that area unlike there support team and support team also swears at customers 3 August 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.2

205 Anonmyous rip 3 August 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

206 Rachel Hill Customer service reps were really nice but unfortunately the company policies are awful and this is why we left. We were moving house and were required to take out a 12 month non transferable contract for switching to UFB even though we were existing customers. Also unbeknownst to us there is a 30 day notice period required to disconnect the service which if you do not know about it incurs additional charges. Luckily we advised them on the 5th of the month so it is minimal. Not sure why they need 30 days to delete a user account but clearly they see it as necessary. 5 September 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

5.8

207 Marie Too annoyed to type Words fail to describe 5 September 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

208 Terry Hawker If it was'nt for the punitive contract and effort changing emails I would be gone by now! I will spend the rest of the contract year changing email addresses and next year this time I will be with somone else. 27 September 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

6.6

209 Bob I'd change if I wasn't stuck on a contract 7 October 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.2

210 nat always happy with the service. good value 18 October 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

8.8

211 Nadia Maiava Spoke to Jim today to process my monthly payment.. Lovely to deal with. 14 November 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

9.8

212 it took them 1 month, 5 calls, to solve my problem of 2 existing account when i siwtched plan, thats all i did, was switch my damn plan and it took them a month to process it, during that time i couldnt log into my new account, they double billed me from both account, even after repeatedly calling them back, these guys r absolutely trash, stay away 24 November 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.2

213 Keisha http://einfacherkreditvergleich.info/europa-bau-kredit-zinsen.html fsa employment kredit record online 26 December 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

8.0

214 Matilda cialis europa rezeptfrei http://www.cialiscosto.top/ 31 December 2016
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

5.8

215 Pat Don't even consider this company-I am so disappointed I did 27 January 2017
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

216 Cliff Burgess I've been with orcon for 2 years, first year was a dream. They only Bandwidth throttled me for 1 hour at 9 pm. Now on their second year they have turned into the worst from slow internet now to 5pm -9pm with random disconnects anytime of the day. I continued to stay with them thinking It would work out In time but so far they have only wasted countless hours of my time on the phone. I strongly do not recommend orcon now. Strongly. Only made an account to complain as Im not the type. 16 February 2017
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.6

217 Cindy An = = 6 March 2017
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.4

218 Leo i hope they go under soon. this is unacceptable. 4 April 2017
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.4

219 Leo RUBBISH ISP!! even worse then slingshot ... 4 May 2017
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

220 Craig Mayall Not very impressed with the way Orcon have changed. Once upon a time, they couldn't do enough for their customers. Oh how things have REALLY changed. I moved over to a new contract with them recently, tempted by the promise of 2 months FREE. Who wouldn't. It seemed too good to be true. It was, and it was a scam. They have threatened to disconnect if I don't pay up and will not send me the audio of my new sign up conversation in which they promised the 2 free months. People of NZ beware. Orcon is no longer the same company in name only. The new router is sh*t. 9 May 2017
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

221 Jartin They were good when part of Kordia which was a govt SOE years ago. Been with them many years as is so frustrating to change. Finally think at end of rope.Their robot-like operating techs nearly made me have a heart attack last few days with frustration and anger. Really bad for your health. They do answer quickly in Philippines but per script ask at end if can help with anything else even though you still have the problem. .Understand helpdesk may be reverting to NZ but will they answer? Wanted to say best of a shocking bunch in NZ but doubt I can. 7 July 2017
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

3.0

222 Ryan Please dont for this service, even they offer a free service. 16 July 2017
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.2

223 Sean We now onto our third new modem and just like the first two the problem is not the modem. Forced to hotspot from my phone as the 4G is faster than my Gigabit fiber connection. Select you provider carefully and pay attention to where they run their support from. 20 July 2017
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.2

224 Henry Avoid them unless you like stress. Lied to me when they rang me to make the offer. 17 August 2017
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.4

225 fritz fransen that was the worst internet provider I ever had. It took 6 weeks to connect me and then it was not going for most of the time. When I complained about it they was lying so much they could 6 November 2017
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

1.0

226 Anita

Train staff fully before letting them loose on the unsuspecting public. 

Remember: Automated systems can be changed by a human being!! - we still exist.

The customer comes 1st - no customers = no company.

14 March 2018
Reliability 3.7
Speed 4.1
Support 3.0
Features 4.0
Value 3.7

2.0